Religious Education Hub

General Capabilities

The seven general capabilities of the Australian Curriculum are:

  • literacy
  • numeracy
  • information and communication technology (ICT) capability
  • critical and creative thinking
  • personal and social capability
  • ethical understanding
  • intercultural understanding

These capabilities are incorporated into the Religious Education curriculum, Good News for Living, in the same way as the other learning areas. An additional—that is, eighth—general capability, wisdom, is included in the Religious Education curriculum and across all learning areas within Tasmanian Catholic schools. 

The general capabilities give students the knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions needed to thrive and shape their world, contributing to a more productive, sustainable and just society. In Good News for Living, as in the Australian Curriculum, icons (pictographs) indicate where general capabilities can be developed or applied in learning area content descriptions and elaborations. 

For further information on the general capabilities and to access learning continua, visit the Australian Curriculum website: